Dhanteras – The Start of the 5 Day Festival of Diwali

Dhanteras - The Start of the 5 Day Festival of Diwali

Share This Post

2nd Nov, 2021

Diwali is a five day festival & starts with Dhanteras.

The five days of Diwali are

Day One –

Dhanteras (Day of fortune)

Day Two –

Naraka Chaturdasi (Day of knowledge)

Day Three –

Diwali (Day of light)

Day Four –

Annakut (The New Year)

Day Five –

Bhai Duj (Day of love between siblings)

The word Dhanteras is made of two words – Dhan which means wealth, and Teras which means the 13th day. According to Hindu calendar, Dhanteras falls on the 13th lunar day of Krishna Paksha (dark fortnight) in the month of Ashwin.

As we start the 5 day Festival on an auspicious note,

This is our wish for you this Diwali Festive Season :

Comfort on difficult days, Smiles when sadness intrudes,

Rainbows to follow the clouds,

Laughter to kiss your lips, Sunsets to warm your heart, Hugs when spirits sag,

Beauty for your eyes to see, Friendships to brighten your being,

Faith so that you can believe, Confidence for when you doubt,

Courage to know yourself,

Patience to accept the truth,

Compassion to feel the pain,

Empathy to share and care,

Kindness to cause a smile,

Big heart to give generously

and  Love to complete your life.

As we celebrate, The joy of Giving Diwali -2021

Let’s be the reason someone smiles today and

Stay blessed forever.